Skip to main content

General Information

West Virginia University

West Virginia University is a student-centered learning community meeting the changing needs of West Virginia and the nation through teaching, research, service, and technology. Founded in 1867, West Virginia University is the land-grant, doctoral degree-granting research university in the state of West Virginia. As such, the institution occupies a unique position within the state.

West Virginia University comprises its main campus located in Morgantown, the Charleston Division of the WVU Health Sciences Center located in Charleston, the Eastern Division of the WVU Health Sciences Center located in Martinsburg, and the fully integrated campuses of Potomac State College located in Keyser, WV and West Virginia Institute of Technology located in Beckley, WV.

West Virginia University's primary mission is to provide high-quality programs of instruction at the undergraduate, graduate, and professional levels; to stimulate and foster both basic and applied research and scholarship; to engage in and encourage other creative and artistic work; and to bring the resources of the University to all segments of society through continuing education, extension, and community engagement activities.

West Virginia University recognizes that diversity enriches the institution and the society it serves. The University is committed to social justice and to practicing the principles of equality of opportunity and affirmative action.

The Mission of West Virginia University

As a land-grant institution, the faculty, staff and students at West Virginia University commit to creating a diverse and inclusive culture that advances education, healthcare and prosperity for all by providing access and opportunity; by advancing high-impact research; and by leading transformation in West Virginia and the world through local, state and global engagement.

West Virginia University's Colleges and Schools

West Virginia University offers bachelor's, master's, doctoral, and professional degrees among its 17 schools and colleges.

In addition to its 17 schools and colleges on the Morgantown, Keyser, and Beckley campuses, West Virginia University includes divisions of the Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center in Charleston and Martinsburg; and six Extended Learning Regional Centers. The WVU Extension Service serves the citizens of West Virginia through offices in each of the 55 counties and at WVU Jackson's Mill. Degree programs, courses, and workshops are offered throughout the state and region through WVU Online.

Administration and Governance